Pissing Off Uber Drivers… And It Feels So Good!

labor-fest-2016-taxi-uber-panel

Taxi/Uber panel at LaborFest 2016

Last Wednesday night, I participated in a panel discussion for the annual Laborfest called “Uber, Worker Rights, Tech and the Public.”

I suppose it’s beneficial to continue informing the population about Uber’s impact on the San Francisco taxi industry, as well as the thousands of drivers who propelled the juggernaut to its $62 billion valuation. Despite all the talking between the panel and audience, though, there weren’t many solutions presented other than prolonged lawsuits. Or just holding your breath until enough people realize Uber is a public threat and/or they run out of drivers willing to work for peanuts. 

laborfest-uber-taxi-panel

Taxi/Uber panel at LaborFest 2016

The following afternoon, I start my workweek feeling mostly pessimistic. Disheartened, I make it through my shift, but something happens the next day that brightens my mood…

Read the rest here.

sf-examiner-gridlock-taxi-uber-fuck-you

One thought on “Pissing Off Uber Drivers… And It Feels So Good!

  1. Alan

    I am a rideshare driver and I discovered your columns tonight. I’ve got a lot of lovely reading to do. Thank you for your thoughts and insights.

    My solution to driving in SF is … not to. (Don’t get me started on licensing – it is nauseating to see so many cities with their hands out.) But it is not uncommon for a chain of rides to start in Fremont or south San Jose and inexorably slide towards the horror that is The City. New rideshare drivers in their first hundred rides, desperate to make bonus, are like baby goldfish drawn by the current into the shark infested waters. The apps do not show a passenger destination until after you have already picked them up.

    Here’s to you, Mr. Shark. Happy chomping.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

